Jetstar MasterCard Review

Information verified correct on September 28th, 2016

Receive a balance transfer offer of 0% p.a. for 14 months and pay a low ongoing rate.

The Jetstar MasterCard provides rewards points earnings while charging a low ongoing interest rate on purchases. You can choose between earning points with the Jetstar Dollars Program and the Qantas Frequent Flyer Program. This card also supports transferring balances from existing cards, with 0% p.a. on transferred balances for 14 months. You can also receive up to 55 interest free days on purchases.

Product NameJetstar MasterCard
Rewards ProgramJetstar Dollars Program
Balance transfer rate (p.a.)0% p.a. for 14 months
Balance Transfer Revert Rate
The interest rate after the balance transfer ends.
Purchase Rate (14.99% p.a.)
Purchase rate (p.a.)14.99% p.a.
Annual fee$29 p.a. annual fee for the first year ($59 p.a. thereafter)
Interest Free Period
The interest-free period on purchases is the period or number of days you do not have to pay interest on your card purchases. You will be charged interest either from the day you make a purchase or from the statement date, unless you pay the closing balance in full by the due date (or within the interest-free period) on your statement.
Up to 55 days on purchases
Cash advance rate (p.a.)21.99% p.a.
Min credit limit
This is the lowest credit card limit that you can request. It is possible to apply for a higher credit card limit but not a lower one than this figure.
$5,000
Max credit limit
This credit limit may not be issued to you immediately on application. This is the maximum credit limit for this card which must be applied for or offered to you after you are approved and have already opened the account.
$50,000
Minimum Monthly Repayment2% or $50 whichever is greater
Minimum Income$30,000
Card TypeMasterCard
Late Payment Fee$35
Foreign Currency Conversion Fee (MC)3% of transaction value
Complimentary Travel InsuranceNo
Available To Temporary ResidentsNo
Joint ApplicationNo
Minimum Income$30,000
Minimum Age18 years of age
Available to Temporary ResidentsNo
Credit Rating Requirement
Credit rating requirement is provided only as a guide. Understanding your credit file helps you make more informed decisions in regards to your finances. Learn more about what this means here.
Good
Min Credit Limit
This is the lowest credit card limit that you can request. It is possible to apply for a higher credit card limit but not a lower one than this figure.
$5,000
Max Credit Limit
This credit limit may not be issued to you immediately on application. This is the maximum credit limit for this card which must be applied for or offered to you after you are approved and have already opened the account.
$50,000
Annual Fee$29 p.a. annual fee for the first year ($59 p.a. thereafter)
Minimum Repayment2% or $50 whichever is greater
Late Payment Fee$35
Over Limit Fee$30
Cash Advance Fee3% or $5 (whichever is greater)
Foreign Currency Conversion Fee (MC)3% of transaction value
Gambling Transactions AllowedNo
Additional Cardholder Fee$9 p.a.
Number of Additional Cardholders4
BPAYYes
ChequeYes
Direct DebitYes
Australia PostYes
Phone BankingYes
Internet Banking TransfersYes
In BranchNo
MailYes
Rewards ProgramJetstar Dollars Program
Rewards Points per $ (VISA/MC)0.5
Rewards Points per $ (AMEX)0
Rewards Points per $ (VISA/MC) Cap25,000
Rewards Points per $ (AMEX) CapN/A
Points ExpiryNever

What’s so good about the Jetstar MasterCard?

  • Low interest rate - Save on interest with an interest rate of 14.99% p.a.
  • Low Annual Fee - This card has a low annual fee of $59 which is incredible value for money.
  • Save up to $500 p.a. on Jetstar Flights - With Jetstar MasterCard you can save up to $500 per year on Jetstar flights. For every dollar you spend on the card you accrue 1 cent in Jetstar Dollars, and can be redeemed for Jetstar Flight Vouchers. Alternatively, choose to earn Qantas Points. Earn 1 Qantas Point with every $2 spent. Please note that there may be an opt-in fee to accrue Qantas Points with your Jetstar MasterCard.
  • Balance transfer offer - Receive a rate of 0% p.a. for 14 months. You could save hundreds on interest by consolidating all your credit cards into a Jetstar MasterCard and pay 0% p.a. for 14 months from date of approval.
  • No card payment fees - for flights on Jetstar.com. Save on card payment fees when you pay for your Jetstar flights online with the Jetstar MasterCard. A family of four can save $26 on every return domestic flight or $40 on every return international flight, compared to paying with other credit cards.
  • Additional cardholder - Receive an additional cardholder for $9.
  • MasterCard benefits - Access to MasterCard Applause, an exclusive ticketing service that can get you the best seats in the house for entertainments and sporting events all over Australia.

With the Jetstar MasterCard travel has just gotten a lot cheaper. Think about the benefit of booking a trip or spending money on holiday with your card. While you are doing that you are actually saving money for your next trip with Jetstar. Once you have 100 Jetstar dollars you will be emailed a voucher. With each voucher you have three months to book and six months to travel on any flight in any seat. You get to choose between domestic or international flights and from using your vouchers to purchase the ticket or as a portion of payment.

In addition to that, you save money when you book with Jetstar because there are no card payment fees if you use your Jetstar MasterCard to book your flights. The carrier knows that more money in your pocket is always a good thing.

With all of these great rewards and low interest rates there is no reason not to have a Jetstar MasterCard in your wallet. Get the card that helps you save for your next holiday just by using it for your everyday purchases.Back to top

Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Ask a Question

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Disclaimer: At finder.com.au we provide factual information and general advice. Before you make any decision about a product read the Product Disclosure Statement and consider your own circumstances to decide whether it is appropriate for you.
Rates and fees mentioned in comments are correct at the time of publication.
By submitting this question you agree to the finder.com.au privacy policy, receive follow up emails related to finder.com.au and to create a user account where further replies to your questions will be sent.

14 Responses to Jetstar MasterCard Review

  1. Default Gravatar
    Jason | November 10, 2015

    Jetstar MasterCard platinum

    • Staff
      Jonathan | November 11, 2015

      Hi Jason, thanks for your inquiry!

      Did you have any specific inquiries about the Jetstar Platinum MasterCard?

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  2. Default Gravatar
    Jason | November 9, 2015

    We have been stuck in Bali for 4 days due to Jetstar cancelling flights
    Today our flight was cancelled again until Friday at the earliest. Our flights where booked on our card etc. what can we claim for as a result of this.
    Jason

    • Staff
      Jonathan | November 10, 2015

      Hi Jason, thanks for your inquiry!

      To allow us to assist you further could you please state which Jetstar MasterCard you are using?

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  3. Default Gravatar
    Peter | July 23, 2015

    I have your card and took advantage of a 0% balance transfer. The catch is all my payments are applied against the balance transfer first and purchases second. As a result unless I pay off the transfer after the first month I have to pay interest on all my purchased. This is a scam and not the way other balance transfer offers work. Do you agree? Peter

    • Staff
      Jonathan | July 24, 2015

      Hi Peter, thanks for your inquiry!

      That is correct. Payments go towards the highest rate of interest first then to the second highest and so forth. This is put in place to avoid charging the user any extra interest. Depending on your usage needs having a balance transfer credit card and purchase card may be beneficial.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  4. Default Gravatar
    andrew | June 21, 2015

    I have a Jetstar Platinum MasterCard, is my wife insured too?

    • Staff
      sally.mcmullen@hiveempire.com | June 22, 2015

      Hi Andrew,

      Thanks for your question.

      Yes, the Jetstar Platinum MasterCard complimentary insurance covers the cardholder’s Spouse and the cardholder’s Dependent Children, who travel with the cardholder for the entire journey, provided their return overseas travel tickets were obtained by use of the cardholder’s eligible Jetstar Platinum MasterCard Account.

      For further information, you may wish to read over the Jetstar MasterCard insurance policy booklet and our Jetstar Platinum MasterCard review page for further information.

      Thanks,

      Sally

  5. Default Gravatar
    Angela | October 3, 2013

    Hi,

    I’m going to Cambodia and Vietnam for 3 weeks in a few weeks. I have a Jetstar MasterCard with a 100 Jetstar dollars. A few questions:
    1. What transaction fees are applicable on purchases whilst using my card overseas?
    2. Can I utilise my 100 Jetstar dollars by booking a flight whilst overseas eg International flight from Siem Reap, Cambodia to Hanoi, Vietnam OR a domestic flight within Vietnam?
    3. I used my Jetstar MasterCard to book the International return flight to Cambodia. Does this cover me for travel Insurance while in Cambodia and Vietnam? Thanks for your assistance.

    • Staff
      Jacob | October 4, 2013

      Hi Angela.

      Thanks for your question.

      1) You will be charged an currency conversion fee when you use this card to make a purchase or withdraw cash in a currency other than Australian dollars. This fee is currently 3% of the total value of the transaction. You can compare cards that do not charge this fee on this page.
      2) Your Jetstar dollars can be used on Jetstar flights, you will have to check their flight routes to find out where you can use your Jetstar Dollars.
      3) The Jetstar MasterCard does not offer complimentary international travel insurance, however, this is offered with the Jetstar Platinum MasterCard.

      I hope this helps.

    • Default Gravatar
      Angela | October 6, 2013

      Hi Jacob

      Thanks for your answers. I’ll be spending one week in Cambodia and 2 weeks in Vietnam and, after a bit of research, I’m still not sure if it’s worth getting a Travel Money Card (a Commonwealth Bank one being the only one to load Vietnamese Dong). I’ll probably spend between $1500 and $3000 so I have to weigh up if it’s worth the bother, or just wear the 3%transaction fees. Can you please suggest what options are better between a Travel Money Card, Jetstar Master Card, ATM- Westpac Debit card (I don’t believe Westpac ATM’s are located in these countries) and/or Travellers Cheques? Thanks again.

    • Staff
      Jacob | October 7, 2013

      Hi Angela.

      Have a look at this page on taking travel money to South East Asia, it may be of help.

      Traveller’s cheques are antiquated travel money type, but some people still use them. American Express provide traveller’s cheques though various bank branches etc. and you’ll pay a commission when you buy and sell the cheque for cash. About travel money cards, they’re a fantastic travel product, but if you can’t reload the currency of the country you want to visit, there are better travel money options out there.

      Both the Jetstar MasterCard and Westpac Debit Card charge a currency conversion fee and ATM fees when you withdraw cash – there’s a few Commonwealth Bank and ANZ ATMs in Vietnam though.

      It’s difficult comparing between the three types of card you’ve suggested. I always take a credit card as well as my debit card and travel money card when travelling internationally, it helps to have different options for different situations. In my opinion a card without international currency conversion and transaction fees is better than a card that has these fees. However, I have friends who use their normal debit card overseas. They accept the extra cost because they’re on holiday.

      Thanks for your question.

  6. Default Gravatar
    ra | May 6, 2012

    If I purchase a jetstar mastercard would the booking fees for my wife and six children be waivered as well.

    • Staff
      Jeremy | May 18, 2012

      Hi,

      If tickets are booked with a Jetstar card any booking fee will be waived for all the purchases. Cheers.

      Jeremy

Credit Cards Comparison

Rates last updated September 28th, 2016
Purchase rate (p.a.) Balance transfer rate (p.a.) Annual fee
Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer
Enjoy a 0% p.a. balance transfer offer for 18 months and also earn 2 bonus Velocity Points in the first 3 months on everyday spend.
20.74% p.a. 0% p.a. for 18 months $64 p.a. annual fee for the first year ($129 p.a. thereafter) Go to site More info
ME Bank frank Credit Card
Enjoy a low and consistent interest rate on purchases and cash advances, combined with no annual fee.
11.99% p.a. $0 p.a. Go to site More info
St.George Vertigo Visa
Introductory offer of 0% p.a. for 18 months on balance transfers and 1% p.a. for 12 months on purchases, plus a low annual fee.
1% p.a. for 12 months (reverts to 13.24% p.a.) 0% p.a. for 18 months $55 p.a. Go to site More info
HSBC Platinum Credit Card
Receive a full annual fee refund and save $149 if you meet the $6,000 spend requirement. Enjoy a balance transfer offer and platinum card benefits such as complimentary insurances and concierge services.
19.99% p.a. 0% p.a. for 15 months $149 p.a. Go to site More info

* The credit card offers compared on this page are chosen from a range of credit cards CreditCardFinder.com.au has access to track details from and is not representative of all the products available in the market. Products are displayed in no particular order or ranking. The use of terms 'Best' and 'Top' are not product ratings and are subject to our disclaimer. You should consider seeking independent financial advice and consider your own personal financial circumstances when comparing cards.

Ask a question
feedback