Woolworths Qantas Credit Card Rates & Fees

Information verified correct on October 1st, 2016

The Woolworths Qantas Credit Card is no longer available. Compare new Woolworths credit cards and find the right card for you.

Important Information

The Woolworths Qantas Credit Card will no longer be available for applications as this credit card is no longer available to new customers. The information provided and cards cannot be applied for, however, the information on this page has been kept for the benefit of existing customers and for those who are interested.

If you would like to compare other Woolworths credit cards: Click here.

The Woolworths Qantas Credit Card rewards cardholders with 2 Qantas Points per dollar spent when they shop at Woolworths or Woolworths Group Stores.

This card be used in more locations than just Woolworths stores, it can be used wherever MasterCard is accepted – in millions of locations both in Australia and overseas. Cardholders get 1 Qantas Point per dollar spent when they make an eligible purchase anywhere in the world.

Woolworths Qantas Credit Card review

  • Benefits of a MasterCard. In addition to the above features, this card offers MasterCard PayPass functionality and access to MasterCard Moments. PayPass makes paying for small transactions easy. You don’t need to enter you PIN, just tap your card against the terminal reader and the transaction is processed almost instantly. It’s safe too. MasterCard offer a full money back guarantee for fraudulent transactions.
  • Account maintenance. The easiest way for cardholders to access their account information, keep track of their account balance and view recent transactions is through the Woolworths credit card online service.The Woolworths online facility lets cardholders pay bills, view statements, change account information, view transaction history and set up direct debits. It’s easy to set up this facility, it can be done through the Woolworths website.

Important information for potential cardholders

  • I’m not a member of the Qantas Frequent Flyer program, how do I earn Qantas Points? You don’t have to be a Frequent Flyer member or already have an Everyday Rewards account to apply for the Woolworths Qantas Credit Card. Simply complete an application form online and you will automatically be made a member on your application and can enjoy the benefits sooner.
  • What’s an eligible purchase? We get a lot of questions about what’s classified as an eligible purchase. Qantas Points are earned on all eligible purchases, these include everything except business expenses, interest free promotions, balance transfers and cash advances. Other cash transactions, like paying some bills may also be exempt from earning Qantas Points. If you’re unsure about this, check with the merchant to see how the transaction will be processed.
  • How do I maximise my Qantas Points balance by linking my Woolworths Qantas Credit Card and my Woolworths Money Everyday Card? This product offers 1 Qantas Points per dollar spent per dollar spent on all eligible purchases – anywhere in the world. The earn rate is doubled to 2 Qantas Points per dollar spent when cardholders shop at Woolworths and Woolworths Group Stores.The Woolworths Everyday Rewards Card offers one Qantas Point per dollar spent over thirty dollars at Woolworths or Woolworths Group Stores. So, there’s an opportunity to earn an extra Qantas Point per dollar spent when cardholders link their Woolworths Everyday Rewards Card to their Woolworths Qantas Credit Card.
Have a look at this example.
Say you spend $200 on your grocery bill at Woolworths. You’ve purchased the goods on your Woolworths Qantas Credit Card, and you’ve swiped your Everyday Rewards card too.You will earn 200 Qantas Points on your Woolworths Qantas Credit Card, and 170 Qantas Points on your Woolworths Everyday Rewards Card. This brings your total earn to 370 Qantas Points.

Features of the Woolworths Qantas Credit Card

  • Earn Qantas Points when you shop:
    • Earn 1 Qantas Points per dollar spent on all eligible purchases.
    • Earn 2 Qantas Points per dollar spent at Woolworths and Woolworths Group Stores spent through Everyday Rewards when you spend over $30.
  • Earn bonus Qantas Points when you use your Woolworths Qantas Credit Card to purchase a Qantas product.
  • Link your Woolworths Qantas Credit Card to your Woolworths Everyday Rewards Card to get rewarded with extra Qantas Points.
  • Add an additional cardholder to the account to earn more points.
  • Qantas Points are not capped.
  • Complimentary membership to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program valued at $89.50
  • An annual fee of $139
  • Up to 55 days interest free for cardholders who are not carrying a balance from month to month.
  • A balance transfer rate of for months. Cardholders who take advantage of the balance transfer facility and carry a balance from month to month will not receive any interest free days when they make a purchase on their card.
Back to top
Was this content helpful to you? No  Yes

Related Posts

Ask a Question

You are about to post a question on finder.com.au

  • Do not enter personal information (eg. surname, phone number, bank details) as your question will be made public
  • finder.com.au is a financial comparison and information service, not a bank or product provider
  • We cannot provide you with personal advice or recommendations
  • Your answer might already be waiting – check previous questions below to see if yours has already been asked

Disclaimer: At finder.com.au we provide factual information and general advice. Before you make any decision about a product read the Product Disclosure Statement and consider your own circumstances to decide whether it is appropriate for you.
Rates and fees mentioned in comments are correct at the time of publication.
By submitting this question you agree to the finder.com.au privacy policy, receive follow up emails related to finder.com.au and to create a user account where further replies to your questions will be sent.

319 Responses to Woolworths Qantas Credit Card Rates & Fees

  1. Default Gravatar
    Justin | June 9, 2016

    I have reviewed the terms and conditions for the 30-day travel insurance cover for Woolworths Qantas Platinum cardholders. I believe that I am eligible, but do the provisions apply automatically or is there a way to seek/receive confirmation before I travel that I will be covered?

    • Staff
      May | June 9, 2016

      Hi Justin,

      Thanks for your inquiry.

      As stated in the T&Cs, you will automatically be covered under the 30-day travel insurance if the total value (i.e. including but not limited to money and/or reward type points) of the return overseas travel ticket was obtained prior to the commencement date of your trip by you by one of the following methods:

      a. was paid for by being charged to a Woolworths Money Qantas Platinum Credit Card Account, and/or
      b. the card member has redeemed their Qantas Points earned on the Woolworths Money Qantas Platinum Credit Card Account in exchange for your return overseas travel ticket.

      For further information, I’ve sent you the link to the Woolworths Money Qantas Platinum Credit Card T&Cs.

      I hope this is helpful.

      Cheers,
      May

  2. Default Gravatar
    Valerie | May 26, 2016

    Can we still add an additional name to a current Qantas frequent flyer card held since 2009?

    • Staff
      May | May 31, 2016

      Hi Valerie,

      Thanks for your inquiry.

      Unfortunately, the Woolworths Qantas Credit Card will no longer be available for applications as this credit card is no longer available to new customers, so it could be that any additional cardholders may not be accepted as well. You’d be best if you contact Woolworths directly on 1300 10 1234 to verify.

      Hope this helps.

      Cheers,
      May

  3. Default Gravatar
    Kerry | April 3, 2016

    Can I put my frequent flyer points onto everyday reward card from Woolworths?

    • Staff
      Sally | April 5, 2016

      Hi Kerry,

      Thanks for your question.

      Unfortunately, you can’t redeem Woolworths Dollars for Qantas Points just yet. Woolworths has announced that members will be able to do this come mid-2016. Until then, you’ll have to wait for email notifications of when you can transfer your Woolworths Dollars in for Qantas Points.

      I hope this has helped.

      Cheers,

      Sally

  4. Default Gravatar
    Kaye | May 27, 2015

    Is there a card fee for a spouse to have an additional card? and if so, how much per annum?

    • Staff
      Jonathan | May 28, 2015

      Hi Kaye, thanks for your inquiry!

      Please note that this credit card offer has been updated to the Woolworths Money Qantas Platinum Credit Card. The additional cardholder fee is $29 for this credit card offer with an annual fee of $99 p.a. for the first year ($139 p.a. thereafter).

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  5. Default Gravatar
    judith | March 18, 2015

    can this card be used to pay government utilities and other government departments and the Australian taxation office

    • Staff
      Jonathan | March 18, 2015

      Hi Judith, thanks for your inquiry!

      Unfortunately the terms and conditions do not specifically stipulate whether payments can be made to the mentioned Government bodies. It would be best to contact Woolworths Money directly to determine whether payments can be made to the ATO and government utilities/ departments.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  6. Default Gravatar
    geoff | February 16, 2015

    I was told on phone that as at 1st Feb my woolies platinum card will cover o/seas travel ins for 30 days after any purchase…..is this correct?

    • Default Gravatar
      Deb | April 11, 2016

      What are the travel insurance benefits contained in the Qantas Woolworths Platinum credit card that I have owned for several years?

    • Staff
      Sharon | April 12, 2016

      Hi Deb, thanks for inquiry.

      Woolworths Qantas Platinum cardholders can take advantage to a 30-day travel insurance cover and includes the following:
      - Travel Cancellation Cover
      - Medical Emergency Expenses Cover – including Repatriation of Remains Cover and Hospital Cash Cover
      - Delay Cover
      - Special Event Cover
      - Resumption of Journey Cover
      - Baggage, Money and Documents Cover
      - Personal Liability Cover
      - Accidental Loss of Life Cover
      - Loss of Income
      - Mugging
      - Domestic Pets
      - Hijack

      You may also refer to the Woolworths Money Qantas Platinum Credit Card Insurance PDF I have sent to your email.

      I hope this has helped.

      Thanks

      Sharon

    • Staff
      Jonathan | February 16, 2015

      Hi Geoff, thanks for your inquiry!

      The Woolworths Qantas Platinum does include complimentary insurance providing 30 days of overseas Travel Insurance cover for your whole family if they travel with you for the entire journey.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  7. Default Gravatar
    Akeno | February 3, 2015

    I have received a letter advising changes to the earn rate. “Earn a Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases for the first $2,500 spent per statement period and earn 0.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent for the rest of that statement period.”

    Why are they changing the earn rate?

    • Staff
      Jonathan | February 4, 2015

      Hi Akeno, thanks for your inquiry!

      It would be best to directly contact Woolworths Money in regards to the change in bonus points capping conditions. We are not directly affiliated with Woolworths Money and as a result cannot advise on the changes in terms and conditions.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  8. Default Gravatar
    Ellem | February 1, 2015

    I think I have seen that Woolworths Platinum ViSA points will be capped as of 1 March 2015. I can’t seem to locate where I saw the advice is that correct?

    • Staff
      Jonathan | February 2, 2015

      Hi Ellem, Thanks for your inquiry.

      At this point of time the Woolworths Qantas Credit Card still remains uncapped for points.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

    • Default Gravatar
      MarkB | February 3, 2015

      While not being capped, it does appear that earning tiers are being introduced, such that any spend above $2500 in a statement period will earn points at a reduced rate (of 0.5 points per dollar).

      The (Woolworth Money) website is unclear how the Qantas bonus will work if you spend >$2500. Some parts say you will get 1 bonus point per dollar (i.e 1.5 points total), other parts say you will get 2 points per dollar.

    • Staff
      Jonathan | February 4, 2015

      Hi MarkB, thanks for your inquiry!

      For the Woolworths Qantas Platinum Credit Card you earn 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases for the first $2,500 spent per statement period and earn 0.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent for the rest of that statement period. There is the option to earn bonus Qantas points on specific spending such as selected Qantas products and services.
      For the Woolworths Money Everyday Credit Card, you can earn either 1,2 or 3 points to the Woolworths Money Shopping Card Rewards Program depending on the type of spend.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  9. Default Gravatar
    Stewart | February 1, 2015

    I would like to continue with my application that is parked ?

    • Staff
      Jonathan | February 2, 2015

      Hi Stewart,

      Thanks for your inquiry!

      Saved applications are retrievable via the Woolworths website by entering the application page.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

  10. Default Gravatar
    Dennis | January 20, 2015

    Does the Woolworths Money Qantas Platinum Credit Card have complimentary travel insurance?

    • Staff
      Jonathan | January 20, 2015

      Hi Dennis,

      Thanks for your question,

      Thanks for your question.

      Unfortunately the Woolworths Qantas Mastercard/ Platinum Mastercard doesn’t have complimentary insurance. You can find a list of cards that have this feature here.

      I hope this helps.

      Cheers,

      Jonathan

Credit Cards Comparison

Rates last updated October 1st, 2016
Purchase rate (p.a.) Balance transfer rate (p.a.) Annual fee
Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer
Enjoy a 0% p.a. balance transfer offer for 18 months and also earn 2 bonus Velocity Points in the first 3 months on everyday spend.
20.74% p.a. 0% p.a. for 18 months $64 p.a. annual fee for the first year ($129 p.a. thereafter) Go to site More info
ME Bank frank Credit Card
Enjoy a low and consistent interest rate on purchases and cash advances, combined with no annual fee.
11.99% p.a. $0 p.a. Go to site More info
St.George Vertigo Visa
Introductory offer of 0% p.a. for 18 months on balance transfers and 1% p.a. for 12 months on purchases, plus a low annual fee.
1% p.a. for 12 months (reverts to 13.24% p.a.) 0% p.a. for 18 months $55 p.a. Go to site More info
HSBC Platinum Credit Card
Receive a full annual fee refund and save $149 if you meet the $6,000 spend requirement. Enjoy a balance transfer offer and platinum card benefits such as complimentary insurances and concierge services.
19.99% p.a. 0% p.a. for 15 months $149 p.a. Go to site More info

* The credit card offers compared on this page are chosen from a range of credit cards CreditCardFinder.com.au has access to track details from and is not representative of all the products available in the market. Products are displayed in no particular order or ranking. The use of terms 'Best' and 'Top' are not product ratings and are subject to our disclaimer. You should consider seeking independent financial advice and consider your own personal financial circumstances when comparing cards.

Ask a question
feedback